the impossible

The other day, my husband and I saw that Identity Theft had become available OnDemand.  Since we are probably years away from watching a movie with real people in it in an actual movie theater, OnDemand has become our new Regal Cinemas.  So, we made a plan.

That night, munchkin was asleep, the popcorn was popping, and our steely resolve to make it through two more whole hours was set.  I went to rent the movie…and my love affair with Fios ended.  We had been hoodwinked.  Identity Theft was indeed available, but only to buy.  Not to rent.  Talk about false advertising.

But the popcorn was already luring me with its delicious, buttery scent.  So we decided to rent a different movie.  We chose The Impossible.

If you haven’t seen this movie yet, you have to stop what you are doing and go watch it.  Right now. Seriously.  Actually, finish reading first, then go watch it.  But make sure you watch it.

In addition to being a wonderful heartwarming tale with a great cast, I learned two very important things from the film.  And I think what really separates a good film from a great film is when you learn more about yourself in the process.  Here’s what I learned:

  1.  Movies about natural disasters are not good for people suffering from depression/anxiety. You know why?  They remind us that we have no control.  In my everyday life, I can make lists, I can have backup plans for backup plans, but in the unlikely event that a tsunami crashes through my town, they will be useless.  Knowing that there are situations out there that may arise in which I cannot prevent, through careful planning and preparation, something bad from happening gets my heart racing and my hands sweating.  We had to pause the movie no less than three times because the dialogue could not be heard over my hysterical, frightened sobs.  Four times my husband suggested we turn it off.  If the beginning of the movie had not made it clear what would happen in the end, I probably would have stopped watching.  The movie reminded me to be aware and conscious of what triggers both my depression and my anxiety, and to not purposely put myself in these scenarios when it is completely avoidable.
  2. I am a mom.  Now, for those of you reading who are thinking, “Your daughter just turned five months old, why is this just now occurring to you?” hear me out.  Without knowing it, I watched this movie with my new mom glasses on.  I didn’t know I had them on, or even that I owned them, but as I watched it became clear.  The crying I did, the desperation and sorrow I felt, the questions of “What would I do?” that I asked were all a direct result of my new status as mom.  I don’t know if this movie would have impacted me so deeply if I weren’t a mom.  But that’s the thing about mom glasses – you can never take them off.  I’ll never know what it means to look at the world without those lenses ever again.  I’ll never again hear a story on the news about a car accident, or a tornado, or a missing child without being filled with cold dread and wanting to hold my daughter tight.  I am a mom.  And that will color how I react to things from here on out.  This is not necessarily a good or bad thing.  It just means that my perspective has been forever altered. And that there are probably a lot of movies that I should avoid watching.

Has anyone else seen the film?  What was your reaction?  Did you learn anything?

One thought on “the impossible

  1. I’ve had similar feelings since I’ve had children. My first outing after I had my daughter was to see the movie, Slum Dog Millionaire. The scene where the kids in the street are holding a crying baby practically had me falling apart. It was awful. I had no idea I would have such a reaction. I feel it when I’m in store or a restaurant and I hear a baby cry, my heart aches. I want to cry too.

    I can’t watch violent movies and I have to censor what I watch on the news. I hate it but it’s about self preservation. I have to try to keep myself together because people are depending on me to stay together. I get it.

Feel free to comment! But remember, I'm human too :)

